Globetrotting Librarian

Many of us become “snowbirds” around this time of year. We fly south to sunnier climes to feel the heat radiate into our frozen bones. I made such a migration on January 4. I highly recommend taking a flight out of the airport in London Ontario, without the hassle and high stress levels you’d find at Pearson International in Toronto.

This was my first trip to Mexico.  I really did not know what to expect. As soon as I deplaned, (don’t you love that word?) and boarded my shuttle bus to the resort, I found the people there to be as warm and gentle as their climate.  Everyone greeted me with “Hola” and wished me a good day. The food and the hospitality were wonderful.

On Friday we took a day excursion to visit Mayan ruins at Ek Balam, visited a hacienda for lunch,

The entrada to the biblioteca
The entrada to the biblioteca

explored an underground natural well, called a ‘cenote’, and toured an old Spanish colonial town named Valladolid.  Walking down the street we came across the ‘Biblioteca Publica’.

I’ll bet you can guess what that is. My husband knew I’d have to stop in for a visit.  It was not exactly what we are used to here in Canada. It was pretty small, and the selection of books was limited.  Two charming ladies, sitting at what I presume was the circulation desk, were busy creating shawls on a wooden block with pegs, a handicraft that combined knitting and crochet. Their work was exquisite, and I tried to tell them so.  Their smiles conveyed to me that they understood.
Watching ladies creating shawls on a wooden block with pegs, a handicraft that combined knitting and crochet.
Learning Something New

As I looked to the right several teenage girls sat chatting with schoolbooks open. As I looked to the left, sitting at a long table were young boys working on their laptop computers.  With the internet comes a world of information. I may have been in the Yucatan Peninsula, but at that moment I felt right at home.

Buenos dias.

– EL

Nuevas amigas
Las nuevas amigas

Leave a Reply

