Happy Birthday, Lewis Carroll

Today is Charles Lutwidge Dodgson’s 180th birthday. You might know him better as Lewis Carroll, the author of the classics “Alice in Wonderland” and “Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There.”

Lewis Carroll, through his stories and poetry, cultivated my imagination and creativity at a young age and helped to teach me the value of a great story (and the value of an intriguing chess game!) I don’t think I would be the Marketing Coordinator I am today, if not for a creative mind, imagination, and logical reasoning that was introduced to me at such a young age through Carroll’s works.

Nobody does nonsense like Lewis Carroll. One of my favourite tid-bits about him: Carroll created the portmanteau – the blending of two words into a shiny new one. For example “Chortle” is the combination of “chuckle” and “snort.”

“And, has thou slain the Jabberwock?
Come to my arms, my beamish boy!
O frabjous day! Callooh! Callay!’
He chortled in his joy.

–          “Jabberwocky” from Through the Looking Glass, and What Alice Found There by Lewis Carroll.

Thank you, Mr. Carroll, for creating portmanteaus – without which we wouldn’t have words like “brunch!”

Not only was Lewis Carroll a literary craftsman, he was also the creator of scores of puzzles and logic games. I poured over a book containing his logic puzzles during the summer holidays. In fact, you can see a copy of this book online.

I’ve read the Alice stories more often that I can count and every time I read them, I’m taken back to a land where dreaming is mandatory, your imagination runs rampant, nonsense is an acceptable language, logical thought will get you out of most sticky situations, and rabbits wear waistcoats.

Happy Birthday, Lewis Carroll. My life wouldn’t be the same without you!

– RC

Leave a Reply

