Flat Stanley: Bahamas Adventure – A Romantic Dinner

Dear STPL Friends,

Our last night in Nassau is here. Sadness. As a surprise for Harriet, I’ve made Conch Salad, a truly Bahamian dish. Conch (pronounced ‘konk’) is a large type of ocean mollusk that has firm, white meat. For my salad, I used fresh, uncooked conch, which I chopped finely. I mixed in fresh tomatoes, celery, onions, green onions, red and orange sweet peppers. Then I added fresh lime juice, Barbados scotch bonnet hot sauce, Bahamian Pepper Sour to taste. Hope she likes it. I’ll let you know when I write again from the airplane.

Delicious Conch Salad

By the way, conch can also be steamed, stewed, or made into chowder and fritters. It can also be deep-fried in a batter which is called Cracked Conch.

Cheers,

Flat Stanley

Leave a Reply

