The Adventures of Flat Stanley…in Niagara Falls!

Finally!  After so many weeks of cold and snow, I get to go on a little trip.  Maybe not as warm of a place as the Bahamas, but it will do…Niagara Falls!  I love coming here.  My hotel room overlooks the falls, and I’m told that at night, they are lit up with different coloured lights.  Should be quite a spectacle!American_Falls_Feb_98

But first thing’s first…while it is still light outside, I am going for a walk by the falls.  It is quite chilly, but my travel companion has a nice warm pocket for me to ride in.  The water at the bottom of the falls is mostly frozen—it looks like an ice floe from the Arctic!  I am half expecting to see a polar bear come lolloping around the bend.   The wind is blustery, and we can feel little ice pellets hitting our cheeks.  I am glad my companion is holding on to me tightly!  We have had enough.  Time to go into Table Rock to warm up!flatstanely falls

Table Rock is a really neat place.  There are lots of souvenir  shops in here, and on the second level, you can see the falls from behind the safety of the windows.   If anyone wants to, they can go on a Journey Behind the Falls from here, but we decide it is too cold for that.  Instead, we walk around and look at some murals that describe the history of Niagara Falls.  I find out that “Niagara” comes from the Iroquois word “Onguiaahra”, which means “the strait”.  I also find out that high wire tightrope acts used to be performed across the river.  That would have been something to see!   It is fun to imagine floating along the Niagara River, but it would be very dangerous.  The water spills over the Horseshoe Falls at a rate of 2,271,247 liters per minute!  That is fast and furious water!

My companion and I are now warmed up enough to walk back to our hotel.  I am looking forward to a great evening of calamari and chocolate! stanely floating

2 thoughts on “The Adventures of Flat Stanley…in Niagara Falls!

  1. Tammie Laur March 29, 2014 / 10:20 AM

    Niagara is misspelled.

    • St. Thomas Public Library March 31, 2014 / 10:34 AM

      Thank you for letting us know, Tammie! I’ve fixed all of the mistakes. Spelling mistakes on a library blog – how embarrassing!

      Thank you again,
      STPL

Leave a Reply

